Our history

19th century . Transport, a family business

The Friderici family has been active in the field of transport since the end of the 19th century. Starting at local level with the transport of timber, the business extended its activities to include first regional and then national operations.

1946 . Friderici launches international transport operations

At the end of the Second World War, Friderici transports Red Cross packages into France. This marks the start of the company’s international operations, which will form the basis of a reputation extending throughout Europe and as far as the Middle East.

1961. First beginnings in the field of lifting

Friderici acquires its first crane, marking its debut on the lifting market. With activities including handling and the transport of persons as well, this business unit continues to develop up to the end of the 20th century. Its growth is indicated by the increasing number of branches – from its first base in Morges, to seven branches in 2002. From this time on, Friderici is represented throughout the territory of Switzerland. In 2003 the company has almost 400 HGVs and 25 cranes, with more than 900 employees on its payroll.

Start of the 21st century . The years of transition

The start of the 21st century finds the company embroiled in financial difficulties which threaten its survival. The family is obliged to sell off real estate and the greater part of the business activities of the group. It seeks financial support to redress the situation. Several companies are given up, and some fields of activity are abandoned. The companies Friderici Spécial and Friderici Services are created. They are bought back by the family in 2005.

Today: strategic alliances

As of now, five representatives of the Friderici family work for the company – two of them (Jean-Paul and André) being of the fourth generation, flanked by three of their sons (Clément, Stéphane and Blaise). The family business is now entering into cooperative arrangements with European partners in the aerospace and energy industries. It has been involved in the Solar Impulse project, for instance.

Notre Histoire

19 ème siècle . Le transport, une activité familiale

La famille Friderici est présente dans le domaine du transport depuis la fin du 19ème siècle. Travaillant tout d’abord à l’échelle locale avec des transports de bois, l’entreprise s’est développée au niveau régional puis national.

1946 . Friderici commence le transport international

Au sortir de la deuxième guerre mondiale, Friderici transporte des colis de la Croix-Rouge en France. C’est le début de son activité internationale, qui va faire sa réputation à travers l’Europe et même jusqu’au Moyen-Orient.

1961. Les débuts dans le domaine du levage

Friderici acquiert sa première grue qui marque son entrée dans le marché du levage. Active également dans la manutention et le transport de personnes, l’entité va se développer jusqu’à la fin du 20ème siècle. Cette croissance est marquée par l’augmentation du nombre de ses succursales qui passe de 1, son centre à Morges, à 7 en 2002. Dès lors, Friderici est représentée sur la totalité du territoire suisse. En 2003, elle possède près de 400 poids-lourds, 25 grues et engage plus de 900 employés.

Début 21ème siècle . Des années de transition

Le début du 21ème siècle est marqué par des difficultés financières qui menacent la société. La famille doit vendre l’immobilier et la majorité des actions du groupe. Elle fait appel à l’aide d’un financier pour redresser la situation. Plusieurs sociétés sont cédées et des secteurs d’activités sont abandonnés. Les entités Friderici Spécial et Friderici Services sont créées. Elles sont rachetées en 2005 par la famille

Aujourd’hui . Alliances

Désormais, cinq représentants Friderici sont actifs dans la société, deux de la quatrième génération, Jean-Paul et André, épaulés par trois de leurs fils : Clément, Stéphane et Blaise. L’entreprise familiale crée des partenariats dans les domaines de l’aéronautique et de l’énergie avec des partenaires européens. Elle a travaillé par exemple pour le projet Solarimpulse.